Statewide Flood Committees

Three statewide flood committees operate across Victoria to ensure integration of all levels of government to deliver effective flood management services.

The Victorian Flood Warning Consultative Committee (VFWCC)

The VFWCC was formed in 1989 and reports to the Bureau of Meteorology.  Its primary role is to identify requirements and to coordinate the development and operation of flood warning services in Victoria.  Further VFWCC is responsible for reviewing Service Level Specification for Victoria on an annual basis or as required. The membership includes:

  • Bureau of Meteorology (Chair/Secretariat)
  • Department of Environment, Land, Water and Planning
  • Victoria State Emergency Service
  • Local Government – Municipal Association Victoria
  • Catchment Management Authorities – rotating membership
  • Rural Water Authorities – Goulburn-Murray Water
  • Melbourne Water
  • Inspector-General for Emergency Management Victoria
  • Institute of Public Works Engineering Australasia (Victoria Division)
  • Other State Government agencies (as required)

The Victorian Floodplain Management Strategy (VFMS) Implementation Reference Group

The purpose of the VFMS Implementation Reference Committee is to collaborate in how to practically implement the VFMS policies and accountabilities at local, regional and state levels.  The Committee has an independent Chair, plays an advisory role and report to Department of Environment, Land, Water and Planning.  The membership includes:

  • Department of Environment, Land, Water and Planning (Floodplain Management)
  • Department of Environment, Land, Water and Planning (Planning)
  • Emergency Management Victoria
  • Victoria State Emergency Service
  • Catchment Management Authorities
  • Melbourne Water
  • Municipal Association of Victoria
  • Local Government
  • Water Authorities
  • Coastal Water Authorities

The Floodplain Management Forum (FMF)

The FMF deals with practical, statewide flood policy and planning issues and ensures cross-regional sharing of experience and expertise. The primary purpose of the FMF is to align and co-ordinate floodplain management activities across Victoria.  Membership includes all ten floodplain management authorities (CMAs and MW) with secretariat support and assistance by the Department of Environment, Land, water and Planning. The FMF has the following terms of reference:

  • Contribute to statewide policy and program development for floodplain management.
  • Advise the CMA's CEOs Group of policy and program development relating to floodplain management.
  • Provide opportunities for information exchange and knowledge sharing relating to floodplain management, and legislation/regulation framework.
  • Identify and seek funding opportunities for multi-regional research and development projects.

 Go to the Contacts page on this website for contact details.

Page Last Updated: Tuesday 6 March, 2018