Understanding your Risks

There are many different types and causes of flooding and your property could be at risk from one or more.  You should make yourself familiar with the type of flood that may affect your area and how your property is affected.

Victoria's floodplain management authorities (FMAs), comprising nine regionally based Catchment Management Authorities (CMAs) and Melbourne Water, can provide relevant flood advice and information.  To find your floodplain management authority use the interactive map or the list below.

Interactive Map of Floodplain Management Authorities (FMAs)

Position mouse over area and click for further information.

List of Floodplain Management Authorities (FMAs)



Page Last Updated: Wednesday 7 February, 2018